首页 旅游指南 Goðafoss的秘密: ...

Goðafoss的秘密: 众神瀑布

最近更新:

它也许不是最高或最有名的,但只要你看上一眼,就会说服自己前往到这个惊艳的瀑布。 众神瀑布(Goðafoss)被广泛地认为是冰岛最壮观的瀑布之一,当地人称之为“美女”,而邻近的黛提瀑布(Dettifoss)则被称为“野兽”。

众神瀑布

Goðafoss(英文有时写作Godafoss),发音为Guo-zha-foss,它的名字背后还有个有趣的历史故事。 Goðafoss通常被翻译为“众神瀑布”,这是以该国宗教史上的特定事件命名而成。

其民间故事可以追溯到一千多年前,就是当基督教成为冰岛官方宗教的时候。 Þorgeir(或Thorgeir),是一位异教牧师(或政治人物,取决于你问谁),他被委派了任务,就是决定该国家是否继续信奉当地的神明还是基督教 – 他选择了后者。

为了表明他的决定,据说他将北欧众神的雕像扔进了瀑布,因而以此得名。

同时期,在另一个冰岛传奇故事中可以找到更多关于此瀑布的历史联系。 它诉说了亡命之徒- Grettir the Strong,延绳爬到众神瀑布后面的洞穴,并得以从湍急的洪流中存活下来。

Bingdaotexie.com Godafoss 冰岛

主要特点

虽然没有证据表明真的有任何雕像落至水中,但能肯定的是,这里有很多值得你欣赏的风景。

众神瀑布高12米,宽30米,坐落在一个壮观的对称弧形悬崖上。

水流源自Skjálfandafljót河,起始于冰岛高原地带,并流经Bárðardalur山谷,一个古老的熔岩区。这个由火山构造出来的景观,可以从瀑布内和周围的独特岩层中近一步地观看到,它们是有着奇异而美妙形状的玄武岩。在引人瞩目的云雾缭绕的山脉背景下,呈现出了优雅而雄伟的景观。

Bingdaotexie.com Godafoss 冰岛

镜头下的瀑布

无论你是拍照玩家还是专业的摄影师,你都不想错过在众神瀑布的三个最佳观赏点拍出来的照片

由于瀑布的西岸最接近两个停车场之一,所以西岸最容易到达。但是东岸有一条额外的路径,可以直达瀑布流域的底部,提供了更多拍摄的角度。

尽管你需要独立的设备以对应个别的场景,但两侧都非常值得体验。

强烈建议使用广角镜头以在西岸获得最佳的角度,而在东岸,一个24-50mm的镜头将可为你获得最佳的效果。 要注意的是,在东岸可能会有更多的瀑布喷雾,另外请避免在下午前往,以帮助你捕捉到最好的光线。

不论在哪一个位置,慢速快门在白天可以照出梦幻般效果的照片,而长曝光则是夜晚摄影的较佳选择,因为它能带出更多的色彩。但在夏季,你不必太担心黑夜,因为这里有近24小时的日照

经验丰富的摄影师很容易就在这里驻足一两个小时,甚至更久,所以为了获取你想要的拍摄效果,请留出足够的时间。

前往众神瀑布及其周边

众神瀑布位于冰岛东北部, 它距离阿库雷里(Akureyri)以东约50公里,胡萨维克(Húsavík)以南53公里。照地图指引,你可以很容易地从1号环岛公路抵达瀑布。

如果搭乘公共交通前往,你可以从阿库雷里(Akureyri),米湖(Mývatn)和埃基斯蒂尔(Egilsstaðir)搭乘56号巴士。 无论你的交通方式如何,都无需支付入场费来观赏瀑布。

大多数的游客会把车停到西岸的停车场,就此开始游览。 西岸给游客提供了众神瀑布更前端的视野,并且可以一瞥下游较小的Geitafoss瀑布。

Bingdaotexie.com Godafoss 冰岛

这里的景致美丽并且可沿着路线做一小段徒步。但请注意,由于这个地区现在没有安全栅栏,因此有滑落的可能,建议游客远离瀑布边缘,且禁止攀爬。 目前正在进行施工建设,以求该地区更为安全

此河流水流湍急且强势,若不慎掉落是很危险的。

因此,最好穿着抓地力强的鞋子,并着外套或大衣,以防被瀑布的雾水溅湿。

要到达众神瀑布的另一岸,需要走过一座桥,从停车场步行约1公里的距离(大约5-10分钟)。 但需要注意的是,在东岸向下通往更低的观景点的台阶很短、很陡峭。从东岸,你也可以前往休息站(下面有更多资讯)。 如果你是自驾,也可以开到另一侧,那里也有一个停车场。

Bingdaotexie.com Godafoss 冰岛

休憩和茶点

距离瀑布几百米处有可以歇脚并吃东西的地方。

那里有旅游资讯中心、加油站、纪念品商店、咖啡厅、旅馆、餐厅和洗手间。与冰岛的许多洗手间一样,在众神瀑布的洗手间需要付费。 如果你没有硬币,可以到纪念品商店兑换零钱,或免税购买一些东西以找换零钱。

Fosshóll旅馆的开放时间为5月至9月,必须提前预订以便入住。 在夏季,也可以选择户外露营,但在停车场过夜露营是不允许的。

周边景点

Bingdaotexie.com 阿库雷里 Akureyri 冰岛

阿库雷里(Akureyri)

距离众神瀑布(Goðafoss)40分钟车程,是冰岛的第二大城市。拥有一个室外植物花园还有很多美丽的老式房屋建筑。特色包括夏季节日活动,观赏鲸鱼以及耸立在市区的教堂。

Bingdaotexie.com 米湖 Lake Mývatn 冰岛

米湖(Lake Mývatn)

同样约40分钟的车程,米湖是冰岛第四大湖。在这里你可以探索独特的熔岩原,硫磺泉,地热池和洞穴。在冬季,可在结冰的地面上进行卡丁车,雪地摩托车和狗拉雪橇等活动。

Bingdaotexie.com 黑暗城堡 Dimmuborgir 冰岛

黑暗城堡(Dimmuborgir)

在米湖附近,黑暗城堡(Dimmuborgir)有着迷人的地质特征,像这样的熔岩层在陆地上是独一无二的。一座巨大、扭曲的熔岩管柱群,被译作黑暗城堡或堡垒,这里还是“权力的游戏”在冰岛的拍摄地点之一。你可以在Kaffi Borgir餐厅附近的观景台上欣赏到最佳的景观,该餐厅规模虽小,但它们的餐点都是使用当地的食材。

有朋友要来冰岛旅游吗?

分享此贴,让他们知道这个地方。

分享后请在下方订阅我们的电子快报。

你也可以在微博Instagram上关注我们。

发表回复

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

3,736粉丝
1,525粉丝关注
2,010粉丝关注
490用户免费订阅

精选旅行团

北极光巴士探索之旅(炫目的北极光)

想体验极光的神奇之处吗?我们的北极光探索之旅将为您提供观赏这一迷人景色的最佳机会!

经典黄金圈多语种一日游(中文导游)

经典黄金圈之旅带您饱览冰岛最具代表性的迷人风景。多语种导游供您选择!

极光贵宾迷你巴士游(精品小团游)

在更加私密的环境中,跟随我们的极光迷你巴士一起去欣赏壮丽的极光吧。这将是您小团游冰岛的最佳选择。

多语种北极光之旅(中文导游)

多语种极光之旅带您见证欧若拉的神秘之美。四种语言供您选择,享受极致的极光体验。

豪华北极光探索之旅(雷克雅未克出发)

通过我们的豪华北极光探索之旅,获得自然界最佳灯光秀的前排座位。您可以在舒适的豪华巴士上欣赏欧若拉。

斯奈山半岛多语种一日游(中文导游)

斯奈山半岛一日游为您提供冰岛最引人入胜的精彩之旅。英语、中文普通话和德语随行导游可供选择。

It may not be the tallest, or the most famous, but one look at this striking waterfall is all you’ll need to persuade you to visit it. Goðafoss is widely held to be one of the most spectacular waterfalls in Iceland, and locals have nicknamed it “The Beauty”, in contrast to the neighboring Dettifoss, called “The Beast”.

Waterfall of the Gods

Goðafoss (sometimes written Godafoss in English), is pronounced GO-thuh-foss, and its name has an interesting history. Usually translated as “Waterfall of the Gods”, Goðafoss was named after a particular event in the country’s religious history.

The folktale dates back over a thousand years, to the time when Christianity became the official religion of Iceland. Þorgeir (or Thorgeir), a pagan priest (or political figure, depending on who you ask), was given the task of deciding whether the country would continue to worship their native gods, or to embrace Christianity—he chose the latter.

To symbolize his decision, it’s said that he took his idols of the Norse gods and threw them into the waterfall, hence its name.

Further historical connections can be found in another story, from an Icelandic saga set in a similar time period. It tells of the outlaw Grettir the Strong, who is said to have abseiled down into the caves behind Goðafoss, surviving the powerful torrents to do so.

Icelandcloseup.com Godafoss Waterfall Iceland

Key Features

While there’s no evidence that any statues really did end up in the water, there’s certainly plenty for you to see.

Goðafoss is 12 meters high and 30 meters wide, set in an astonishingly symmetrical, curved cliff.

It’s fed by the river Skjálfandafljót, which begins in the Icelandic highlands and flows through Bárðardalur valley, an ancient lava field. This volcanic past is further seen in the unique rock formations in and around the waterfall, they are basaltic constructions in weird and wonderful shapes.

Against the dramatic backdrop of the cloud-covered mountains, they create an elegant and majestic scene.

Icelandcloseup.com Godafoss Waterfall Iceland

Capturing the View

Whether you’re a holiday snapper or a serious photographer, you won’t want to miss out on a picture or three from Goðafoss’ three main viewing points.

The west side is the most easily accessible, as it’s closest to one of two parking areas, but the east bank has an extra path down to the bottom of the basin, which gives you more perspectives to shoot from.

Both sides are fully worth experimenting with, although you’ll need separate equipment to make the most of each.

There is a waterfall in Iceland called 'Waterfall of the Gods', something big needs a big name Click To Tweet

A wide-angle lens is highly recommended to get the best angles on the west side, while a 24-50mm gets the best results on the opposite bank. You should bear in mind that there can be more spray on the east side, and avoiding afternoon visits will help you to catch the best light there.

In either location, slow shutter speeds can achieve some fantastic photos during the day, while longer exposures are the better option for bringing out colors at night and in the evening. During summer you don’t have to worry too much about dark nights, because there‘s almost 24 hours of daylight.

Experienced photographers could easily be there for an hour or two, maybe even more, so you should set aside enough time for your desired shots.

Getting to and Around Goðafoss

Goðafoss is located in northeast Iceland. Guided by a map you can easily access the waterfall by car via Route 1, the Ring Road, roughly 50 kilometers east of Akureyri and 53 kilometers south of Húsavík.

If you’re travelling by public transport, you can hop on bus 56 from Akureyri, Mývatn, and Egilsstaðir. Whatever your mode of transport, you don’t have to pay an entry fee to view the falls.

Most tourists arrive in the parking area on the west side, and start their visit there. It provides a more frontal view of Goðafoss, and a glimpse of the smaller Geitafoss downstream.

The scenery is beautiful and there are paths you can follow for shorter hikes, but you have to be careful. Visitors are advised to stay away from the edge, which now has no safety barriers in this area and can be slippery. Currently there is ongoing construction to make the area safer.

Attempting to climb down is forbidden.

The river is swift and powerful, making it dangerous if you fall in. You’re best off wearing shoes with a good grip, and a jacket or overcoat in case you’re caught by some spray from the waterfall.

To reach the other bank of Goðafoss, you need to walk about a kilometer (which takes around 5-10 minutes) from the parking area, via a bridge. The steps down to the lower viewpoint are short, but take care, because they’re steep.

From the eastern side, you can also reach a rest stop (more below). If you have your own car you can also drive to the other side, as there is a parking lot there as well.

Icelandcloseup.com Godafoss Waterfall Iceland

Rest and Refreshment

A few hundred meters from the waterfall there are places to rest your feet and grab a bite to eat.

There’s a tourist information center, gas station, souvenir shop and café, guesthouse and restaurant, and restrooms. As with many restrooms in Iceland, the ones at Goðafoss require a small payment. If you don’t have any coins, you can exchange some in the souvenir shop or make a small purchase tax free.

The guesthouse Fosshóll is open from May to September, you need to book in advance in order to stay there.

In summer, there’s also the option to stay outdoors, on the campsite, but overnight camping at the parking lots is not allowed.

Neighboring Sights

Icelandcloseup.com Akureyri Church

Akureyri

A 40 minute drive from Goðafoss is Iceland’s second-largest urban area. It boasts an outdoor botanical garden and many beautiful old houses. Highlights include summer festivals, whale spotting, and a church towering over the downtown area.

Icelandcloseup.com Myvatn Iceland

Lake Mývatn

Also about a 40 minute drive away, Lake Mývatn is the fourth-largest in Iceland. Here you can explore unique lava fields, sulfur springs, and geothermal pools and caves. In winter, there’s go-karting on the frozen surface, as well as snowmobile rides and dog sledding.

Icelandcloseup.com Dimmuborgir Myvatn Iceland

Dimmuborgir

Not far from the lake are some fascinating geological features; they‘re the only known examples of such lava formations on land. Translated as dark castles, or citadels, they form a giant, twisted playground of pillars and tubes that were part of a filming location for Game of Thrones. Some of the best views can be found at a viewing platform near Kaffi Borgir, a small restaurant, which uses local produce in its meals.

 

Do you know anyone coming to Iceland?

Share the article and let them know about this place.

Once you’ve done that, you can subscribe to our newsletter below.

You can find us on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram as well.

2 COMMENTS

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here